Old buildings are one of the best interpretations of a city’s history and culture. In Kunming, old buildings carry stories of the city and reveal the beauty of the city. Here, we recommend you some of the oldest buildings in Kunming, which you could take only a day to experience the ancient temple and one of the most popular restaurants next to the Green Lake.
Situated at the southern part of Yuantong Hill, Yuantong Temple connects Yuantong Street and Yuantong Zoo, which is one of the oldest Buddhist temples in Kunming. Surrounded by verdant plants and a body of water, Yuantong Temple is renowned as one of the “eight magnificent scenes” in Kunming.
From the architectural perspective, the formation of the Luofeng Hill and the temple creates a special scenery, which is very unique in Chinese garden design. Entering from its front gate on Luofeng Street, the whole temple reveals itself in such a symmetric way. Yuantong Temple enjoys a reputation in Southeast Asia for its profound history and wonderful view. It has been listed as one of the protected units in Yunnan in 1998.
Address: No. 42, Yuantong Street, Wuhua District, Kunming
Yunnan Military Academy is a famous military academy in modern Chinese history. Originally, it was established as a military academy during the Qing dynasty for new army training. Being set up in 1909, it is named as one of the military academies of China along with Beiyang Military Academy (Tianjin) and Dongbei Military Academy (Fengtian). In 1935, Yunnan Military Academy was adapted as the Central Army Officer’s School, Kunming branch. It has been listed as the second batch of the 20th century architectural heritage site in 2017.
Address: No. 22, West Cuihu Road, Wuhua District, Kunming
Nie Er (Nie Shou Xin as the original name) was a musician from Yuxi, Yunnan. He was born on February 15, 1912 in Kunming, and he had passed away on July 17, 1935 in Japan. Within his short 23 years of life, he had composed 37 songs, in which “March of the Volunteers”was selected as the national anthem of China.
The former residence of Nie Er sits on No. 73 and No. 74 of Fuyong Street in Kunming. In 1902, Nie Hongyi, the father of Nie Er, had opened a traditional drug store, named “Cheng Chun Tang”. And in 1912, Nie Er was born at his father’s medicine shop. He spent most of his childhood around the area until he left Kunming for further education when he was 18, and he had never returned his home.
Address: No. 39, Fuyong Street, Wuhua District, Kunming
Located at No. 24 Zhonghe Lane on South Cuihu Road, Kunming, Shiping Hall is the only meeting hall that had been built in Kunming by people from Shiping County during the Qing dynasty. Due to its important historical status and high artistic value, Shiping Hall was included in the first batch of "Kunming Cultural Heritage Protection Building" and was included in the Wuhua District Cultural Relics Protection Unit.
Founded in the Qing (Qianlong) dynasty, it has witnessing more than 200 years of history. It was mainly used as the meeting hall for those from Shiping County to stay and to do business with local people.
Today, the Shiping Hall has been transformed into one of Kunming's most popular restaurants.
Address: No. 24, Zhonghe Valley, South Cuihu Road, Wuhua District, Kunming